Those Little Spaces

Standard

In the spaces
between silence and sleep
Leaning against your bed,

Awake,
Uncomfortable,
Yet somehow content,

I write this,
In this flickering light.

Wondering
if you know that I am here
beside you.

If it’s love,
that makes you hold my hand
when it touches yours.

That makes you move
just that little bit closer
when I curl up next to you.
Or if it’s just too cold tonight.

I brood
I second-guess
I ponder over it
For another few moments,
Till I fall asleep

In the spaces
between darkness and dawn
Restless,
yet somehow at ease,
once again.

Leave a Reply

